Dr. Tenga re-elected as FCS President, as Prof. Ngowi is appointed as Board chair

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Foundation for Civil Society (FCS) that was held in Dar es Salaam on 18 August 2015 has re-elected Dr. Stigmata Tenga to continue serving as the President of the FCS for another term of one year until the next AGM in 2016.

The FCS President’s main responsibility includes chairing the meeting of the Members of the Foundation, including the AGM and any other extraordinary meetings.
“We will in due course appoint a new FCS Member to fill up one vacancy left following the demise of Mr. Amritlal Shah that took place towards end of last year,” said the FCS Member, Mr. Alais Morindat, while unveiling news of the re-election of Dr. Tenga as the FCS President.

The Members also unanimously resolved to appoint Prof. Honest Prosper Ngowi as the new Chairperson of the FCS Board of Directors for a period of one year until the next Annual General Meeting. Prof. Ngowi has been a member of the Board of Directors since 26 August 2011.

Prof. Ngowi is a senior researcher and consultant in the field of economics and business. He is also the Head of Department of Short Courses, Research and Consultancy at Mzumbe University - Dar Es Salaam College Campus.

Also during the AGM, the Members received and approved the FCS Annual Report and Audited Financial Statements for the year 2014, and re-appointed KPMG as external auditors of the Foundation for 2015.

There are three different levels of governance at the Foundation for Civil Society. These are the Members, the Board of Directors and the Secretariat. As per Memorandum and Articles of Association of the FCS there are between five and seven Members at a time and these are headed by a President elected by themselves and they are selected on the basis of their commitment to the civil society sector, interest and integrity. The Members exercise their authority mainly through the Annual General Meeting or extraordinary meetings.

The current Members are Dr. Stigmata Tenga, Mr. Alais Morindat, Mr. Rakesh Rajani, Prof. Samuel Wangwe, Ms. Mary Rusimbi and Mr. Salum Shamte. Dr. Tenga’s was first elected as FCS President in 2010.

The Board of Directors is the second principle organ of the FCS. It is a Governing Board providing regular oversight of the activities of the Foundation.

The Board’s role include: approving any changes to the structure of the FCS, approving higher level policy and changes or additions to high level rules, regulations and procedures of the FCS, providing final approval of annual plans and budgets for endorsement at the AGM, review and discussion of the financial report with the auditors and presenting audited financial statements for approval by the AGM, and also, the recruitment and performance management of the Executive Director. 

Contact us


  • Tel: +255 22 - 2664890-2
  • Fax: +255 22 - 2664893

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.


You are here: Home News Room Dr. Tenga re-elected as FCS President, as Prof. Ngowi is appointed as Board chair